Bristol Sonics youngster Dieter Thomas could make his international debut on Saturday, when Wales’ Under 16s take on their English counterparts at Dyffryn Pennar Park (kick-off 2.00pm).


The Sonics Academy player, who impressed the Wales coaching set-up during his appearances in this summer’s Cross Border League, is the first from the club’s junior ranks to receive an international call-up.


Thomas takes his place in Lee Cullen’s 20-man squad for the eagerly anticipated contest alongside players linked to Super League clubs Widnes Vikings and Warrington Wolves, as well as graduates from the South Wales Regional Academy.


Bristol Sonics Junior Chairman Ian Waters said: “It’s fantastic to see Dieter get his chance with Wales. He’s performed brilliantly this year and if selected will do his country proud. It’s a great moment for the Sonics Academy and tops off a great season.”


Bristol Sonics Chairman and co-founder Phil Cole said: “Our congratulations go to Dieter on his call-up for Wales under 16s. We’ve spent a lot of time and effort over the last few years getting the Sonics Academy up and running, and it’s great to see it paying dividends. For Dieter to have a chance of taking on established players from England’s Rugby League heartlands shows how much potential there is for players from the West of England to progress. Hopefully this is the first of many similar call-ups for Sonics’ youngsters.”


Wales U16 squad to face England (30/8/14): Lewys Willacott (South Wales Regional Academy), Rhys Lloyd (South Wales Regional Academy), Connor Kawulok (South Wales Regional Academy), Geriant Lawrence (Warrington Wolves), Geriant Lawrence (Warrington Wolves), Jaymes Price (South Wales Regional Academy), Reece Brunt (Warrington Wolves), Nathan Ainsworth (Warrington Wolves), George Shaw (Warrington Wolves), Ryan Davies (South Wales Regional Academy), Connor Parker (South Wales Regional Academy), Aled Cockwell (South Wales Regional Academy), Dylan Reed (South Wales Regional Academy), Sion Jones (South Wales Regional Academy), Macauley Harris (South Wales Regional Academy), Jack Samuels (Penallta Storm), George Mbofana (South Wales Regional Academy), Iestyn Humphreys (Askam Sandrats), Liam Silver (Torfaen Tigers), Dieter Thomas (Bristol Sonics), Jordan Gilbert (South Wales Regional Academy).

Leave a Reply